• Cerametrics – Parametric Ceramics

     

    Bachelorproject by Daniel Valencia Ferrà

    The digitalisation of the Industry is influencing the way in which traditional materials are being taken into form. Ceramic materials like clay, earthenware, stoneware, grog and porcelains have been until now hand modelled, thrown at the potter´s wheel and cast moulded. Additive manufacturing processes are proposing a fourth way to give form to ceramic materials. The Internet and Social Media are generating an interconnected society, in which the access and distribution of information are rapidly accelerating. This phenomenon is allowing makers, the construction and personalisation of complex high-end technology projects, by assembling simple different knowledge building blocks from different sources.

    Sora, a desktop paste printer is born out of the will, to have full access and management over a 3D clay additive process, for experimental and prototyping purposes. The way in which the material is deposited over itself along the different layers generate new morphologies, that differ from other traditional ceramic processes. These outcomes and their eventual functional applications are still to be tested and discussed: In which manner could they enrich the ceramic properties for other industrial fields?

    To define the way in which the clay is extruded, I decided to use parametric modelling strategies. The movements of the printing nozzle are defined by different algorithms and script. Some of the printed results differ importantly from the original CAD design and are the result of human intention and computational/mechanical potential. This iterative design process, in which human capabilities and digital technology are combined, creates the foundation of Cerametrics: a digital approach to Craft.

    17 November 2017 – 19 January 2018, 24/7
    Outside Showcase, UdK Berlin, Einsteinufer 43

• Cerametrics – Parametric Ceramics

    Bachelorarbeit von Daniel Valencia Ferrà

    Durch die voranschreitende Digitalisierung verändert sich auch die Art, wie traditionelle Materialien, die bislang per Hand geformt, auf der Drehscheibe modelliert oder gegossen wurden, in der industriellen Produktion in Form gebracht werden. Für die Produktionsprozesse keramischer Stoffe wie Ton, Irdenware, Steinzeug und Porzellan öffnet sich ein neuer Weg: Die Vernetzung unserer Gesellschaft mitsamt dem erleichterten Zugang und der rasante Verbreitung von Informationen erlaubt es Makern, Projekte durch das Zusammensetzen verschiedener Wissensbausteine aus unterschiedlichen Quellen zu realisieren und mit komplexer High-End-Technologie zu konstruieren sowie zu personalisieren.

    Sora: Der 3D-Drucker für keramische Masse entsprang der Idee, den 3D Druckprozess zum Experimentieren mit Prototypen zugänglich und kontrollierbar zu machen. Die Art, wie sich das Material in Schichten aufbaut, generiert neue Morphologien die sich von traditionellen keramischen Prozessen unterscheiden. Inwiefern können die dabei entstehenden Materialeigenschaften funktionale Verwendung finden und andere industrielle Bereiche bereichern?

    Um zu definieren, nach welchem Muster sich der Ton folgt, wurde sich für parametrische Modellierung entschieden. Die Bewegung der Druckdrüsen wird dabei von verschiedenen Algorithmen und Skripten bestimmt. Dass sich gedruckte Resultate manchmal entscheidend vom urpsrünglichen, computergenerierten Design unterscheiden ist der Verbindung von menschlicher Intention und den Möglichkeiten der computergesteuerten und mechanischen Technik geschuldet.

    Dieser sich wiederholende Prozess in dem menschliche Fähigkeiten und Technologien aufeinandertreffen bildet die Grundlage der Cerametrics: ein digitaler Zugang zum Handwerk.

    17. November – 19. Januar 2018, 24/7
    Aussenvitrine, UdK Berlin, Einsteinufer 43