• Sense & Sustainability Symposium

    What are future topics for design, designers and consequently design education?

    In 1990 The United Nations announced a list of millennium goals for 2015. Some of them were achieved, but a number of issues have yet to be addressed with even more force in order to prepare our society for a better future with a stronger social and sustainable climate. Among them the big five: energy, food, water, waste and well-being.

    When it comes to designing the future systems we live in and the products we live with, the word sustainable comes to mind. But it also seems to be one of the most abused words, ‘Greenwashing’ products consisting of recycled, green or biological materials. There is much more to sustainability, and there are many questions to ask: What is the global or local impact and carbon footprint of objects we produce? Do we need more stuff? Should our economy change? What can new technology do for a sustainable future? Can we design sustainably at all? 
Sustainability has many faces, and for designers it is sometimes hard to see the forest for the trees, and to know what makes sense and what does not.

    This Summer Semester, the POWER HOUSE Project will end the ‘Rundgang’ with a symposium about the sense and nonsense of sustainability. Experts and designers are invited; UdK students and graduates will present their projects as short intermezzos.

    Symposium: Sunday, 22. July, 15:00–18:00
    designtransfer, UdK Berlin, Einsteinufer 43, 10587 Berlin

    Speakers:

    Tejo Remy With his first work – Chest of Drawers, Ragchair and Milkbottle lamp – he created ‘his own world with what he encountered’, as Robinson Crusoë created his own paradise on his island. These first Droog Designs were internationally recognized when terms such as cradle to cradle and sustainable design still had to find their way. Tejo Remy will speak about these earlier works, and how he relates to sustainability today.

    Tjeerd Veenhoven Works on new products made with new materials. His research involves textiles made from algae with H&M, flip-flops made from palm-leather and a quest for new values for tulip pigments. The dutch designer, researcher and materials developer aims to make a Proof of Principle into Sustainable Business. Tjeerd Veenhoven will speak about some facts and figures and his work as sustainable materials researcher.

    Ed van Hinte Wrote: Products that Last, product design for circular business models. Is a design critic and independent thinker. As a protagonist of sustainable future strategies he is involved in research into the lightness and dematerialization of products. Ed van Hinte will explore how design can reduce our material and energy consumption, and how products can retain their value in the future.

    interview der spiegel  | book
    www.lightness-studios.nl

     
    Melissa Ciardullo Is Circular Design Leader at IKEA Sweden. As Product Manager she is specialized in circular design with 10 years of global, commercial experience across Asia, Europe and North America in sustainability and circular innovation. Melissa Ciardullo will speak about the challenges and opportunities that a global company like IKEA faces when moving towards a more sustainable future.

    the sustainable living project and circular economy

     
    Moderator

    Lucas Verweij is engaged in all sorts of design activities. He writes, speaks and teaches about it; and is interested in social and product design, design thinking and design art. He is an initiator and moderator of many projects and workshops in the field. He has published columns for Dezeen, written a book (The Designfactor with Haystack Press) as well as essays on the topic. Lucas Verweij lives in Berlin.

    dezeen 2011 / dezeen 2015

    with 3 minute Intermezzos by Students and recent Graduates

    Philipp Hainke – BA Graduate UdK Product Design 2018
    Rasa Weber & Luisa Rubisch – MA Graduates UdK Product Design 2017
    Takuya Koyama – MA Student UdK Media 2018
    Bastian Thürich – Power House Student
    Louis Bindernagel – Power House Student

    More Information: Projektgruppe Design and Social Context

     

    Tejo Remy

    Tjeerd Veenhoven

    Ed van Hinte

    Melissa Ciardullo

    Lucas Verweij

• Sense & Sustainability Symposium

    Was sind Zukunftsthemen für Design, Gestalterinnen und somit für die Designlehre?

    1990 haben die Vereinten Nationen eine Reihe von Zielen für das Jahr 2015 festgelegt. Einige von ihnen wurden erreicht, andere Themen müssen jedoch noch stärker angegangen werden, um unsere Gesellschaft auf eine bessere Zukunft mit einem stärkeren sozialen und nachhaltigen Klima vorzubereiten.

    Unter ihnen die großen Fünf: Energie, Nahrung, Wasser, Abfall und Wohlbefinden.Wenn es um die zukünftigen Systeme und Produkte, in denen und mit denen wir leben wollen geht, taucht das Wort „nachhaltig“ häufig auf. Aber es scheint auch eines der am meisten überstrapazierten Worte zu sein – der Begriff Nachhaltigkeit dient oft als „Greenwasher“, für Produkte, die nur zu geringen Anteilen aus recyceltem, umweltbewussten oder biologischem Material bestehen.

    Bei Nachhaltigkeit geht es um mehr, es gibt dazu viele Fragen: Welchen Einfluss haben die von uns produzierten Objekte auf CO2-Emissionen? Brauchen wir immer mehr Produkte? Soll sich unsere Wirtschaft verändern? Was können neuartige Technologien für eine nachhaltige Zukunft beitragen? Können wir überhaupt nachhaltig gestalten? Nachhaltigkeit hat viele Facetten, die für Designer relevant sind.

    Dieses Sommersemester endet das POWER HOUSE Projekt von Professorin Ineke Hans während des Rundgangs mit einem Symposium zum Sinn und Unsinn von Nachhaltigkeit, zu dem internationale Experten und Designer eingeladen sind. Einige der Studierenden und Absolventen werden ihre Projekte als kurzes Intermezzo präsentieren.  

    Symposium: Sonntag, 22. Juli, 15:00–18:00
    designtransfer, UdK Berlin, Einsteinufer 43, 10587 Berlin

    Sprecher:

    Tejo Remy gestaltete mit seinen ersten Arbeiten – Chest of Drawers, Ragchair and Milkbottle lamp seine „eigene Welt mit dem, was er vorfand“, wie schon Robinson Crusoe sein eigenes Paradies auf einer Insel.  Diese ersten Droog Designs Objekte erlangten schon weltweite Anerkennung, als Begriffe wie „Cradle to Cradle“ oder „Sustainable Design“ noch nicht in aller Munde war. Tejo Remy wird über seine frühen Arbeiten sprechen und darauf eingehen, wie er sich heute auf Nachhaltigkeit bezieht.

    Tjeerd Veenhoven arbeitet an Produkten aus neuen Materialien, um daraus nachhaltiges Geschäftsmodelle zu generieren. Seine Forschung umfasst Textilien aus Algen in Kooperation mit H&M, Flip-Flops aus Palmleder und Pigmente aus Tulpenblüten. Tjeerd Veenhoven wird über einige Fakten und Zahlen und seine Arbeit als nachhaltiger Materialforscher sprechen.

    Ed van Hinte schrieb: „Products that Last, product design for circular business models“. Van Hinte studierte Industriedesign an der TU Delft und ist vor allem als Designkritiker und unabhängiger Denker bekannt. Als Protagonist nachhaltiger Zukunftsstrategien beschäftigt er sich mit der Erforschung mit der Leichtigkeit und Dematerialisierung von Produkten. Ed van Hinte wird darüber sprechen, wie Design unseren Material- und Energieverbrauch reduzieren kann und wie Produkte in Zukunft ihren Wert behalten können. 

    Melissa Ciardullo ist Circular Design Leader bei IKEA Schweden. Als Produktmanagerin im Bereich Circular Innovation sammelte sie 10 Jahre lang Erfahrung auf dem globalen Designmarkt im Bereich Nachhaltigkeit. Melissa Ciardullo wird über die Herausforderungen und Möglichkeiten sprechen, mit denen ein globales Unternehmen wie IKEA konfrontiert ist, wenn es um eine nachhaltigere Zukunft geht. 

    Moderator

    Lucas Verweij beschäftigt sich mit Sozial- und Produktdesign, Design Thinking und Designart und veröffentlichte Essays zu diesen Themen z.B. für Dezeen und das Buch „The Designfactor mit Haystack Press“. Er ist Initiator und Moderator von verschiedenen Projekten und Workshops in diesem Bereich des Designs.

    mit 3 Minuten Intermezzos von Studierenden und Absolventen

    Louis Bindernagel, Power House Student
    Projekt: Water Scales

    Takuya Koyama, Kohei Kimura, Miuuki Tanaka
    MA VK, Kunst & Medien Graduate, BA Product KHW
    Projekt: Modular 2.0, Film

    Bastian Thürich, Power House Student
    Projekt: Salt – a light that runs on a ›good‹ battery

    Sophie Stanitzek, Power House Studentin
    Projekt: Collective Couple, Film

    Phillip Hainke, BA Student Product Design
    Projekt: Organico

    Luisa Rubisch & Rasa Weber
    MA Design Graduates & Creative Protoyping
    Projekt: Urban Terrazzo, Film

    Mehr Informationen: Projektgruppe Design and Social Context

     

    Tejo Remy

    Tjeerd Veenhoven

    Ed van Hinte

    Melissa Ciardullo

    Lucas Verweij