• Tools for Activism

    Workshop: VOCAL, VISUAL, VIRAL: Make Tools for Activism

    During this workshop participants were transformed into active makers of protest tools. While experimenting with different materials and forms, the participants also discussed what current political issues to protest against, or alternatively, protest for. Are the methods of protest limited to clothing, banners and tanks? Or can we develop a more gentle, optimistic and humorous language by, for instance, utilising everyday objects? During the VVV workshop we surprised each other with pots and pans, portable drums and spray cans loaded with lemon juice…

    During the official “Kollisionen” presentation, these experimental and impulsive endeavours culminated in a collective protest in the form of an intervention. Around 350 guests bore witness to an invigorating group performance on the topic of fear in public spaces with the aim of helping the guests overcome the anxiety of interacting with the person adjacent to them in a playful and positive manner.
    The results of the workshop, which include inventions such as reflective masks, will be presented as part of the TRANSMEDIALE Vorspiel at designtransfer as well as inside the vitrine located on Einsteinufer.

    The workshop was conducted by Verena Michels and Vlasta Kubušová (Crafting Plastics! fashion + product design) + llka Schaumberg (designtransfer: Design, Art, Activism) + Prof. Axel Kufus (IDK, founder of Kollisionen) + Leónidas Martín (activist collective Enmedio, Spain).

    Students:
    Juan Felipe Amaya Gonzalez, Nina Birri, Teresa Cook, Matthias Drees, Esther Eichhorn, Julian Farny, Maria Frank, Nele Franke, Timotee Gbaguidi, Nele Groeger, Fabienne Gropengießer, Isak Han, Florentine Hovestadt, Yourim Kim, Luise Kröning, Alice Maurer, Isabel Meier-Koll, Minh-Hien Nguyen, Carina Otte, Tillmann Overlack, Lukas Pardylla, Amelie Schindler, Alexander Schindler, Remo Schneider, Jan Stassen, Lara Stöhlmacher, Insa Streit, Maike Suhr, Cara Westerkamp

    UdK Kollisionen Workshop 2016:
    4. Januar – 8. Januar 2016

    Text (Spanish) by Leonardo Martin / Enmedio

• Tools for Activism

    Workshop: VOCAL, VISUAL, VIRAL: Make Tools for Activism

    Die Teilnehmer wurden aktive Gestalter von ‘Protest Tools’ und experimentierten mit Material und Form sowie der persönlichen Haltung für oder gegen aktuelle politische Situationen. Geht das nur mit einschlägiger Kleidung oder Banner bzw. holen wir gleich einen Panzer? Oder: können wir auch eine sanftere, optimistische, humorvolle Sprache mit Alltagsgegenständen entwickeln? Bei VVV gab es ein mobiles Schlagzeug aus Topf mit Holzlöffel und Spraydosen geladen mit Zitronensaft…

    Aus experimentellen und impulsiven Ansätzen wurde ein kollektiver Protest: eine Intervention auf der offiziellen Kollisionen Präsentation mit etwa 350 Gästen wurde abgeschlossen durch eine aktivierende Gruppenperformance zum Thema: Angst in öffentlichen Plätzen und Versammlungen bzw. Angst vor dem Gegenüber abwenden und optimistisch umleiten durch spielerische Kontaktaufnahme.

    Die “Beweisstücke”des Workshops, beispielsweise reflektierende Masken, werden zum Vorspiel transmediale im Foyer bei designtransfer und der Aussenvitrine am Einsteinufer 43 präsentiert.

    Workshop von Verena Michels und Vlasta Kubušová (Crafting Plastics! Mode und Produktdesign) + llka Schaumberg (designtransfer: Design, Art, Activism) + Prof. Axel Kufus (IDK, Initiator der Kollisionen) + Leonardo Martin (aktivistisches Kollektiv Enmedio, Spanien).

    Studierende:
    Juan Felipe Amaya Gonzalez, Nina Birri, Teresa Cook, Matthias Drees, Esther Eichhorn, Julian Farny, Maria Frank, Nele Franke, Timotee Gbaguidi, Nele Groeger, Fabienne Gropengießer, Isak Han, Florentine Hovestadt, Yourim Kim, Luise Kröning, Alice Maurer, Isabel Meier-Koll, Minh-Hien Nguyen, Carina Otte, Tillmann Overlack, Lukas Pardylla, Amelie Schindler, Alexander Schindler, Remo Schneider, Jan Stassen, Lara Stöhlmacher, Insa Streit, Maike Suhr, Cara Westerkamp

    UdK Kollisionen Workshop 2016:
    4. Januar – 8. Januar 2016

    Text (Spanisch) von Leonardo Martin / Enmedio