• About us

    designtransfer
    Founded as the first German transfer point in the field of design by Prof. Werner Linder († 14 September 2014), designtransfer has provided a stage, gallery and communication platform for the College of Architecture, Media and Design at Berlin University of the Arts (UdK Berlin) for more than 25 years. designtransfer initiates, coordinates and presents exchange between the fields of study – Architecture, Product and Fashion Design, Communication in Social and Economic Contexts, Visual Communication and Art and Media – and the industry, as well as national and international cultural institutions, design studios and universities.
    As a communicative interface between the university and the public, designtransfer organises exhibitions, hosts events on design issues, and acts as a cooperative partner for external projects and competitions. Thus, designtransfer promotes an extensive, critical public discourse on current trends, positions and developments in and between the various design disciplines.

    Exhibitions
    In addition to inspiring guest exhibitions, the changing programme shows results from various courses at the College of Architecture, Media and Design at UdK Berlin and thus provides insights into current projects that thereby reach a wider audience far beyond the limits of the university. The showcase outside the UdK building at Einsteinufer offers students and alumni another opportunity to present their work through temporary spatial installations in public space.

    Events
    Various conceptual approaches and areas of work in design are conveyed and debated in lectures, panel discussions, project presentations and workshops together with local and international guests, lecturers and students at the UdK, as well as the interested general public. This brings fresh impulses from outside into the university and helps to further develop discussion of teaching and research content both inside and outside the UdK.

    Cooperations
    designtransfer initiates a dialogue between cooperative partners and the university’s teaching areas regarding current topics and trendsetting developments. Alternative and innovative approaches, stimuli and design solutions can emerge through a reciprocal exchange of information and skills. This transfer enables the students to acquire professional experience and offers added innovation potential to our partners.

    Head:
    Prof. Holger Neumann

    Staff:
    Ilka Schaumberg
    Exhibitions, Events, Communication
    holds a Diploma in Product Design from the HBK Saar and an MA from the Royal College of Art in London. Besides her curatorial activities she has woked as an exhibition designer amongst others for the Science Museum, Victoria & Albert Museum and Crafts Council in London, and the Museum of Decorative Arts, Jewish Museum and Pergamon Museum in Berlin. Since July 2008 she works part time for designtransfer.
    schaumberg[at]udk-berlin.de

    Student Assistants:
    Andy King
    Cindy Valdez
    Irene Szankowsky
    Tereza Mundilová

    History
    The project was developed and presented by Prof. Werner Linder in 1984 as the first German exchange point in the design field. The basic idea is that designtransfer should be an interface between the university and the public and should moderate the dialog between educators and business and other institutes or initiatives. The pilot phase of 1987-89 was funded by the Berlin Administration Senate for Industry and Science. In 1989, the UdK assumed sole ownership of designtransfer. From March 2005 until September 2011, designtransfer was under the direction of Prof. Egon Chemaitis. In October 2011, Prof. Holger Neumann assumed the director’s role.

    Werner_Linder_BW_350

    Prof. Werner Linder, Founder designtransfer, † 14 September 2014

    DT_about_01
    DT_about_02
    DT_about_03
    DT_about_04
    DT_about_05
    DT_about_06

• Über Uns

    designtransfer
    Gegründet als erste deutsche Transferstelle im Designbereich von Prof. Werner Linder († 14. September 2014), ist designtransfer seit mehr als 30 Jahren die Bühne, Galerie und kommunikative Plattform der Fakultät Gestaltung der Universität der Künste Berlin (UdK).
    designtransfer initiiert, koordiniert und moderiert einen Austausch zwischen den Studiengängen – Architektur, Produkt- und Modedesign, Gesellschafts- und Wirtschaftskommunikation, Visuelle Kommunikation und Kunst und Medien – und der Wirtschaft sowie nationalen und internationalen Kulturinstitutionen, Design Studios und Hochschulen.
    Als kommunikative Schnittstelle zwischen Universität und Öffentlichkeit organisiert designtransfer Ausstellungen, führt Veranstaltungen zu Themen der Gestaltung durch und ist Kooperationspartner für externe Projekte und Wettbewerbe. So fördert designtransfer einen weiterführenden öffentlich-kritischen Diskurs über aktuelle Strömungen, Positionen und Entwicklungen in und zwischen den verschiedenen Disziplinen der Gestaltung.

    Ausstellungen
    Das wechselnde Programm zeigt neben inspirierenden Gastausstellungen Ergebnisse aus den Studiengängen der UdK Berlin und gibt so Einblicke in aktuelle Projekte, die dadurch eine große Öffentlichkeit weit über die Grenzen der Universität hinaus erreichen können. Die Außenvitrine des UdK-Gebäudes am Einsteinufer bietet Studierenden und Alumni eine weitere Möglichkeit, sich durch temporäre räumliche Installationen im öffentlichen Raum zu präsentieren.

    Veranstaltungen
    In Vorträgen, Podiumsdiskussionen, Projektpräsentationen und Workshops werden mit lokalen und internationalen Gästen, UdK-Lehrenden und Studierenden sowie dem interessierten Publikum vielfältige konzeptionelle Ansätze und Tätigkeitsfelder im Design vermittelt und debattiert. Dadurch kommen neue Impulse von außen in die Universität und die inhaltliche Diskussion in Lehre und Forschung wird sowohl intern als auch extern weiterentwickelt.

    Kooperationen
    Zu aktuellen Themen und zukunftsweisenden Entwicklungen stößt designtransfer einen Dialog zwischen Kooperationspartnern und den Lehrgebieten der Universität an. In einem gegenseitigen Wissensaustausch entstehen alternative und neuartige Anstöße, Anregungen und Lösungsansätze. Dieser Transfer ermöglicht den Studierenden, berufliche Praxis zu sammeln, und bietet den Partnern eine Vergrößerung ihres Innovationspotentials.

    Leitung:
    Prof. Holger Neumann

    Mitarbeiter:
    Ilka Schaumberg
    Ausstellungen, Veranstaltungen, Kommunikation
    studierte Produktdesign an der HBK Saar und absolvierte nach ihrem Diplom einen MA am Royal College of Art in London. Seit 1998 arbeitet sie als Ausstellungsdesignerin u.a. für das Science Museum, Victoria & Albert Museum und das Crafts Council in London und für das Kunstgewerbemuseum Schloss Köpenick, das Jüdische Museum und das Pergamon Museum in Berlin. Seit Juli 2008 arbeitet sie mit einer halben Stelle für designtransfer.
    schaumberg[at]udk-berlin.de

    Studentische Hilfskräfte:
    Andy King
    Cindy Valdez
    Irene Szankowsky
    Tereza Mundilová

    Geschichte
    Das Projekt wurde 1984 als erste deutsche Transferstelle im Designbereich von Prof. Werner Linder entwickelt und vorgestellt. Im Grundgedanken ist designtransfer eine Schnittstelle zwischen Hochschule und Öffentlichkeit und moderiert den Austausch zwischen Lehre und Wirtschaft und anderen Institutionen oder Initiativen. Die Modellphase 1987-89 wurde von den Berliner Senatsverwaltungen für Wissenschaft und Wirtschaft finanziell gefördert. 1989 hat die UdK Berlin die alleinige Trägerschaft für designtransfer übernommen. Von März 2005 – September 2011 stand designtransfer unter der Leitung von Prof. Egon Chemaitis. Ab Oktober 2011 übernahm Prof. Holger Neumann die Leitung.

    Werner_Linder_BW_350

    Prof. Werner Linder, Gründer designtransfer, † 14. September 2014

     

    DT_about_01
    DT_about_02
    DT_about_03
    DT_about_04
    DT_about_05
    DT_about_06